Introduction to Scientific Computing

This is an introduction course to the first year undergraduates taught at Fudan University.

  • Course: Road to Scientific Research: Powerful Computer Applications (XDSY118019.01)
  • Lecturers: Prof. Ping Tang, Prof. Yi-Xin Liu
  • Schedule: 18:30 - 21:05, Thursday
  • Classroom: H6104

Week 1 (2022.09.08 Thur): Introduction

  • Lecturer: Prof. Ping Tang
  • Topics
    • introduction to the syllabus

Week 2 (2022.09.15 Thur): Python Basics Part 1

  • Lecturer: Prof. Yi-Xin Liu
  • Materials
  • Topics
    • What is programming?
    • How to learn programming
    • Why Python?
    • Keyword, literals, variables, operators, control flow

Week 3 (2022.09.22 Thur): Python Basics Part 2

  • Lecturer: Prof. Yi-Xin Liu
  • Materials
  • Topics
    • Data structures, function, class, module
    • Coding sessions

Week 4 (2022.09.29 Thur): Scientific Computing in Python

Week 5 (2022.10.08 Sat): Introduction to Deep Learning

Week 6 (2022.10.13 Thur): Matlab and Mathematica

Week 7 (2022.10.20 Thur): Plotting and Data Visualization

  • Lecturer: Prof. Yi-Xin Liu
  • Materials:
  • Topics:
    • matplotlib for line arts and 2D graphics.
    • Matlab for 3D visualization.
    • Coding session.
    • Q&A session.

Week 8 (2022.10.27 Thur): Code and Document Management

Week 9 (2022.11.03 Thur): Documenting Tools

Week 10 (2022.11.10 Thur): Q&A Session

Week 11 (2022.11.17 Thur): Final Exam

Step 1. Goto the repo https://github.com/liuyxpp/XDSY118019-exam to see a list of problems.

Step 2. Submit your solutions and related documents as a Pull Request to the repo https://github.com/liuyxpp/XDSY118019-exam.

Final exam problems can be also found below:

Deadline: 21:30, 2022.11.17

Attention: Making a Pull Request to a GitHub repo is part of the final exam. Fail to do so will FAIL the exam!